What if we can’t afford a single mistake?

We’re often told that we should be learning from our mistakes and that we should always be standing up after we fall. Maybe this might give some of us some impression of having to taste certain degree of failures before we could succeed in what we want. But does this acts as a form of motivation? What, we fall and then climb up? Pushed ourselves so hard so that we would know the limit (when we fall?).

Alain Robert, a guy who shot to stardom with his numerous feats of scaling high rise buildings across the globe and also being handcuffed most of every time he scales a building. I received an email about Alian with pictures of him scaling some buildings. Besides giving me this “wow” feeling, I wondered. What is he doing it for? What’s in for him? So I decided to google him and I realized that he is a motivational speaker.

Actually, it really doesn’t matter who Alain is? But what ticks him to perform such death defying stunts. I visualized myself performing those feats. Nope, can’t be. You can’t even afford to make a single mistake. And, if you really do, you will not live to realize that you’ve made a mistake.

Climbing is my passion, my philosophy of life. Although I suffer from vertigo, although my accidents left me disabled up to 66%, I have become the best solo climber” Alain Robert.

Imagine just what would it be like if we were to have that courage to pursue what we would have wanted. Would we embark on something knowing that we could not even make a single mistake? Be grateful, thats what we were told. We have received so much even if we have fallen and made mistakes. I would say that we’re lucky or at least have certain degree of luxury of making mistakes and yet see our day through. Imagine if we’re like Alian Robert, where no mistakes are granted. Would we still be able to live through our day?

So, would it still be “Success is learning from a series of failures” or “Success is just not failing”. We would just have to figure this out.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kevin on February 27, 2010 at 12:18

    Certain things we can dying to try n push to the limit but certain things we cant! I believe when u loose ur life, nothing is importance n matter anymore! If our life live inside the box, y alway wanna push urself to the corner? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

